Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Alva Noto - Live 2008-05-08

Carsten Nicolai visited my hometown in northern Sweden a few weeks ago for the MADE festival, where he performed his new album unitxt. The album is set for an official launch at an upcoming Raster-Noton event on May 30th. While the few copies of unitxt he had brought with him immediatly sold out, he was kind enough to give me a copy of the Aleph-1 album (released on Ideal a few months ago), which was very generous of him. Of course, it was also a joy to see Alva Noto perform live, even if I thought the volume was too low. Boomkat are running a campaign for the new album, so head over there and have a listen.

Download Alva Noto - u 70 (only 112k).
Download Aleph-1 - 1 c a a 01x.

Mix: Blown Out to Sea, I'm Never Coming Back

I watched Deep Water today, a documentary based on the true story of Donald Crowhurst and the 1969 Sunday Times Golden Globe Race around the world. I was deeply moved by it. I'm not going to give anything away, but if you haven't seen it I suggest you rent or download it immediatly. I highly recommend it.

Having mentioned that, I was going through some files a few days ago, and I stumbled over my very first mix, aptly named after a song by Gothenburg musician Dag Rosenqvist. Composed and curated between 2004 and 2007, several versions has emerged. Since the original files were still left on the drive, I arranged them as the original three-part version suggested, and merged them together.
The initial inspiration for the mix came from seeing the cover of Laura Veirs Carbon Glacier album, which promted me to make a mix with a maritime theme and a glacial feel, well suited for slow winter days. I know it's summertime and that I got the seasons all wrong for this one, but here it is anyway, flaws and all:

00:00 SET FIRE TO FLAMES - Esquimalt Harbor
01:45 MÚM - Hú Hviss (A Ship)
02:52 ANDREY KIRITCHENKO - Optical Illusion
12:38 PORN SWORD TOBACCO - Eudaimonia
14:29 DEAF CENTER - Eloy
16:40 MURCOF - Reflejo (edit)
21:32 AARKTICA - Elena
25:50 ALVA NOTO - Spray
27:02 PORT-ROYAL - Flares Pt.3
32:53 MACHINEFABRIEK - Somerset (edit)
37:32 GOLDMUND - Door of Our Home

Total running time: 40:56. Download it here (56 MB, 192k).